The Problem of Anonymity

My airplane reading this for this trip is a book I’ve wanted to read for a few months now: Small is the New Big by Seth Godin. It’s a collection of ‘the best’ of his blog posts over the past 3-4 years. While I spend a lot of time reading online I still appreciate holding some paper in my hands.

He riffs on the troubles associated with anonymity on the internet. Seth’s against it. Says it causes a ton of problems, not least of which are spam, flame wars, trolls and general bitchiness. My favorite line:”anonymity is the enemy of civility.”

You know, I completely agree. When I started this blog I thought about writing under a pseudonym or leaving my blog completely anonymous. But within a week of my first post I read two blogs by people I know in Regina and i was appalled by how cranky the blogs were. Not really the tone [not my style, but that’s OK], but more that they didn’t have the guts to put their name behind what they were writing.

My question: who do you respect/admire more, someone who anonymously puts up a web page criticizing local government, or some kids who recorded a song criticizing local government [click ‘ode to Pasquala’] and perform it live on stage all over the city no matter who attends?

Leave a Reply

